Coursera to Add New Courses from 10 US State University Systems and Public Institutions

coursera.jpgThe educational technology company Coursera announced that it has begun working with 10 US state university systems and public schools to introduce new educational content to its massive open online courses (MOOCs) collection.

The flipped classroom has been on the radar of many educational institutions which attempt to accommodate a unique learning path. Students' ability to focus and retain information may vary based on the time of day (morning, afternoon, evening, or night) and therefore with the online delivery of lectures, students are now able to create personalized schedules. In class, activities would allow professors to explore in-depth aspects of the recorded material and address student questions.

The initiative also invites universities to consider offering for-credit courses to non-matriculated students with limited or no access to campus resources.

The 10 Universities are: The State University of New York (SUNY), Tennessee Board of Regents, University of Tennessee System, University of Colorado System, University of Houston System, University of Kentucky, University of Nebraska, University of New Mexico, University System of Georgia, and West Virginia University.

While I am expecting to see education migrate entirely to online environments, Coursera's co-CEOs—Andrew and Daphne—comment cautiously on their agenda: 
We think the coming decade will see a transformation in the way education is delivered, where teachers and online content come together to better serve students on campus and beyond. With this announcement, we take a step further in our goal to expand quality education to all.
comments powered by Disqus